Skip to main content
Horizon School Division
Creating a better world, one student at a time.
News Item

Horizon Board of Education Holds Organizational Meeting

November 13, 2019
​November 13, 2019 - For Immediate Release

Humboldt, SK– The Horizon School Division Board of Education held its annual organizational meeting on Wednesday, November 13. Nominations were made for the Board's table officer positions of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson. Jim Hack remains in the position of Board Chair, through acclamation. The position of Vice Chair went to a vote, and Linda Mattock was elected to the role for the next year.

"Thank you to my fellow Trustees for their continued confidence to have me remain in the role as Board Chair for another year," said Mr. Hack. "I look forward to the work we will do as a Board in the coming year, serving the students, staff and communities of Horizon School Division."

Mr. Hack has served as Board Chair for Horizon School Division since 2011. He also serves as Trustee for Subdivision 10, which includes Ituna School, New Horizon Hutterian School, Foam Lake Composite High School and Foam Lake Elementary School. Ms. Mattock has served as Vice Chair since 2018, and Trustee for Subdivision 2 since 2016. Subdivision 2 includes Humboldt Collegiate Institute, Humboldt Public School, Lake Lenore School, St. Brieux School, Annaheim School and Three Lakes School in Middle Lake.

"I am honoured that Horizon's Board have chosen me for the role of Vice Chair," Ms. Mattock said. "I have been proud to serve the Board in this role, and I am excited for the opportunities yet to come for our organization."

Horizon's Board of Education is made up of 14 publicly elected Trustees representing Subdivisions from across Horizon. The organizational meeting of the Board is held each calendar year in accordance with the Education Act. At this meeting, Trustees determine the Board's table officers, and discuss indemnity rates, incidental rates and other organizational items.

For more information regarding Horizon's Board, please visit

table officer photo 2019.jpg


For more information, please contact:                 
Lance Hiltz
Communication Services Officer